Best Small Suffolk Hotel – Tourism in Suffolk Awards 2008

June 1, 0208

The Bildeston Crown proves small is beautiful by winning “Best Small Suffolk Hotel” award.

The Suffolk tourism industry gathered last night for a black tie gala dinner and awards ceremony at Ipswich’s Trinity Park to celebrate the best of Suffolk tourism.

There were twelve awards in total presented at the event, which is now in its third year and which aims to showcase the professionalism and expertise of the county’s top tourist destinations. The Bildeston Crown, was short listed and then won the award for Best Small Suffolk Hotel or Townhouse which is aimed at all Hotels, Small Hotels, Town Houses, Country House Hotels and Metro Hotels with under 35 bedrooms.

Chef Chris Lee and wife Manager Hayley Lee were absolutely delighted with the award:
“This is just amazing but especially when you consider who we were up against in this category.  We have great respect for the other two finalists and are not complacent about this win at all as we know it must have been a very difficult decision for the judges.  But it most certainly does feel really good to be recognised in this way.”

Local businessman and farmer James Buckle and his mother Gill Buckle, owners of The Bildeston Crown, were also at the ceremony: “We are extremely proud of The Bildeston Crown and the achievements of Chris and Hayley.  When we bought and refurbished The Bildeston Crown just over five years ago, we had the dream of seeing local produce, including that from our own farm, showcased in a welcoming country hotel setting.  Tonight’s award confirms the reality of that vision and we are simply thrilled.”

As the winner, The Bildeston Crown automatically goes through to the East of England Awards to represent Suffolk in this category and the winners of that heat will be announced at the Regional Enjoy England Awards for Excellence on the 23rd October 2008 to be held at Ickworth House.  The regional winners in each category will then automatically be entered for the National Awards, which will be presented in April 2009.